So what is good money in your opinion?

Don’t answer this if you’re living permanently in the cab/in a camper van or still living at home with Mummy and Daddy and paying ten bob a week for your keep! I’m only interested in people who have real bills to pay!

When you take off all your necessary expenses, mortgage/rent/council tax/car and upkeep/food/coal, gas and leccy/home maintenance/clothes/haircuts etc,etc, what are you left with? How much work did you do to get that? Does it seem worthwhile?
I ask because I was texting a mate last night and he poked fun at the idea that I might be working for a living nowadays! We’ve worked together so we both have done a bit of graft in the past and were suitably rewarded. But my response to him was “You call this a living?”, and that wasn’t tongue in cheek either! Inflation has definitely caught up with and passed earnings like an Oirish wagon driver IMHO!

Now I don’t live the high life, don’t have credit card debts or loans, don’t smoke, not a big drinker, don’t do drugs but am now finding there isn’t a lot left over after the basics are taken care of. I have decided in recent months to do a bit less work, for two reasons. I want more home time now and the financial incentive is no longer there. And I’m still doing what the vast majority of working people would class as more than your average hours.

I feel more and more like a mug for wanting to earn a living when I look around me and see others who don’t turn a hand playing the system for all it’s worth. If anyone can give me any pointers for extracting the max from the system whilst doing as little as possible, I’m all ears!

44 Tonne Ton:
If anyone can give me any pointers for extracting the max from the system whilst doing as little as possible, I’m all ears!

That’s simples !!! Go and sign on. It works for some that can’t get a job that supports them.

But seriously…

For me I have to clear about £280 - 300 a week to be comfortable.