Smart phones and sat navs

I’ve just been browsing on here and noticed that a lot of people use Google Maps on their smartphones to get an accurate final direction for places where their sat nav has messed up. Thing is, until I start earning better money than I am on now (£6.61 per hour for van driving), I genuinely couldn’t afford one, and I don’t like contracts either as I prefer not to be locked in. How necessary are they? How did we all cope before the internet (the grumpy old biddy in me says that!)?

With regards to sat navs, I currently have a Garmin car one that His Nibs bought me for my birthday, and it’s been great, but as I’m new to these things (directions scribbled on bits of paper was getting to be an unsustainable method for getting around), can the software be upgraded to trucker’s sat nav, or would I have to buy a new one? (Yes, been using the search facility, still not seen the answer to this specific question).

I’m thinking that I need to save more money! :open_mouth:

Ever heard of a map :slight_smile: they also exist on paper. Phillips ones are great they do them for individual counties if stay in a certain area and have farms and all sorts on them.

A car satnav will be ok if you have your wits about you and keep your eyes open and look for signs, height and weight limits, width limits etc. the only problem is that if you avoid something you’ve seen, the satnav will just assume you can go around the block and have another crack at the same route.

Any satnav isn’t perfect. Truck satnavs can help if they’re set up right, but in my experience, they don’t acknowledge those little blue signs you see at the end of country lanes that say “road unsuitable for hgvs” this is because they don’t understand bendy and tight, they just look out for physical, numerate hazards.