Shunt button

I am fully aware of the importance of applying the trailer parking brake etc but dont have any idea what the shunt button does :confused: (remember im a rookie).
Is its use of any great importance and should I know about it for my test.
Also would a ratchet type trailer brake be used in the same sort of way as ratchet straps ie back and forth on the handle till tight enough or just one movement :confused:

Don’t know about the shunt button but would be interested also, you sound correct on the ratchet though as I had one of these on my test trailer.

The shunt button will release the brakes if you push it in, It is for “Shunting”, so you don’t have to attach the red airline. In my expierences it is normally just as easy to attach the red line for shunting as it is to press the button. The only time I think they are a good idea is when the button is on the front bulkhead of the trailer, then it is easy just to press it in and away you go. The old type ratchet brakes you just crank the handle up and down till the cable is tight, to release you just push the handle down until the cable releases. I haven’t seen a ratchet parking brake for quite a while now, they are mostly on old trailers. Hence why seen alot on training trailers I suppose. Just wait till you get a cold wet dark morning when some nice kind sole has wound the brakes on and the cable has come off of the sprocket and jammed, then it’s fun and games trying to get it untangled. Long may cable trailerbrakes rest in peace. :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

I have no idea what the shunt button does, personally if i have to move a trailer even 1ft then i connect up properly may take a minute or two longer but you know it’s done right.
Better to be safe than sorry.

I agree with smcaul,its just as easy too attach the red suzie for the simple reason being,if there is no air in the trailer’s air tanks, pushing the shunt button will be a waist of time as the brakes will still be applied …