Should I, Shouldn't I?

All,

I’m seriously thinking about buying a tractor unit in the new year and having a go on my own. I’ve been planning for a large general haulage company for several years and have alot of contacts.

Would I be better going down the traction only route or buying a trailer and getting into general haulage?

I know several of you may scream don’t!!!, but I could just do with hearing from some of you already operating.

Rgds,

U need to ask yourself y? If its purley for financial gane then id say no. But if its somthing you want to do for yourself because you’ve always. Wanted. To then id say may b. I don’t say im an expert in the od thing only. Been on my own for about a year but i don’t regret doing it yes sometimes its tough and i think i wish i was still an employed driver but i no if i hadn’t of give the od thing ago id be thinking what if? If you work in the office have you got a cpc because. Your need one in order to get your o licance there’s financial criteria aswell fuel is goingup all the time also and from i no traction rates are minimal. Some on here will say don’t do it some. Will say your mad but if id have listened to them i wouldn’t have my own lorry nw and a few quid in the. Only you can decide wot route your gona take i wish you luck if u do go down the od route but i wont mock you if you dnt

Hi,

I’ve been in the game long enough to know that I won’t make a fortune, it’s just something I’ve always wanted to do.

I sit here all day planning and have come across maybe every problem that will ever arise and all the stress it causes and always think ‘I could stress myself like this working for myself’ and maybe see something at the end. OK the wages are good, but you’re only as good as your last mistake as the saying goes.

I’m lucky that my wife is a management accountant in this industry too, so I’m not really worried about the financial side of things either.