Setting up on my own, the pros and cons

Hey guys,

I’m a Noob without a truck license, but seriously considering getting my license and setting up on my own with a 32T grabber tipper.

Being a Noob my knowledge is obviously limited, so hoping for some honest advice.

If I collect, say, a full load of foundations, where would this be tipped? Or do most companies sift and crush it on their own yards to re sell?

Would it be worth trying to contract on a day rate for utility companies?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, good or bad.

Thanks in advance

Get at least a couple of years driving/industry experience under your belt and then consider it again.

The first big hurdle will be gaining the Operator Licence. For this you will need to show that you are a fit and proper person, have financial standing (access to around £7k - cant recall the exact figure) maintenance facilities or a signed contract for inspections/repairs, operating centre (this could be a corner of someone else’s yard but you will need a signed agreement). There’s more but that’s a very rough outline.

It takes around 9 weeks for the licence to be granted if all goes to plan.

But my honest advice is to forget it for now, get some experience and then revisit it. Some owner drivers make a decent living. But, truthfully, you’ll earn almost as much driving for someone else and they have all the worry. I also understand that it’s an itch that needs scratching. Been there, done it, made no money, got out again!

All the best, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

The job is ■■■■■■ according to a mate of mine who has six on it, he has been in this line of work for years.

Thanks for the replies guys.

I was thinking of just doing site clearance for local builders and general public, rather than just hauling aggregates around.