Setting up a limited company

Hi there

I am a new member. I have been a regular reader of the forum of the past 1 year or so. I am a qualified class 2 driver who until last week was working fulltime for a pallet line member for 5 months.
The job was ok but the hours and transport manager was a complete idiot. Less said about that the better. Its kind of put me off the trade to be honest with you, Not what i thought i was going into at all. Anyway i have left that company and i am now going back to work as a team leader in a warehouse where i was before i passed my test. The reason i am posting today is that i intend to still drive on Saturday and Sundays if the works there and the price is right. Problem i am having is that a lot of the agencies will not let me work on the books 1) because of the length i have had my licence 2)The amount of days i would be working for them. A few have requested that i start a LTD company up. I know the pro’s and con’s of this, holiday pay etc.

I have set a LTD company up with companies house, that has now come through. What else do i need. Do i need to register anything else, get goods in transit insurance etc etc. I know i need a company bank account. Any help on this would be greatly received, i am trying to do myself to keep the cost down, rather than going to a company that does it all for you for a set price.

Look forward to all your reply’s regarding this issue.
Thanks Dave

• Get a good accountant (chartered only)
  • Get liability insurance
  • Might need to be VAT registered*
  • You’ll be liable for your employees & employers NI
  • Technically you dont unless you’re turnover above 85K but it could help.

Then consider:

The government was intending to make LTD contractors like this effectively impossible, but COVID got in the way. So expect that next year when you need to be PAYE.

It’ll likely cost a lot more in admin costs esp accountant for 1 days driving every 2 weeks. Accountant fees will cost a lot more.