Self employed vs employed driver

Some advice please from those in the know would be very helpful…

I am currently an owner driver but I am soon going to be taking delivery of an additional truck. I have been in talks with the driver I want to take on as I know him and he comes highly recommended. I had planned on using a payroll company to sort out his PAYE and NI contributions. He has since said that he wants to be self employed and will give an invoice at the end of each week.

Is it acceptable to have a single driver working for me full time on a self employed basis? If it is allowed are there any obligations that I must fulfil or is the onus on him to do his own tax returns and I will not have to worry about anything?

Thanks

It’s highly likely that HMRC would look on this as “disguised employment”.

Basically, there are two tests to pass for somebody to be genuinely self employed. Do they bring anything substantial to the job apart from their labour? And are they able to lose money on a job? For a typical lorry driver working for somebody else, they wouldn’t pass either of these tests.

no becomes classed as employed if working solely for you full time or so ive been told

lee mat:
no becomes classed as employed if working solely for you full time or so ive been told

isnt it ok though as long as he “makes himself available” to work for other people, even if he never does

if you are right though on that basis an owner driver solely working for one customer couldnt be self employed ?

For tax purposes put him no a monthly or short term contract ie 3 months. This will sort out

It’s highly unlikely that hmrc will look at it as long as he pays his tax he’ll need to set up as a ltd company though.

Dispite what is put on here the are many drivers who do this and only work for one company

Harry Monk:
It’s highly likely that HMRC would look on this as “disguised employment”.