Self employed vs Agency

Hello to everyone! My first post on the group.

Ok here is the deal. I have been working for three years now for my agency. Always being payed on the PAYE basis over some “umbrella” company.
Recently following my agency colleagues advice I have registered as an self employed. I have also being told that the agency making it hard to go self employ to everyone- of some reason (my mate told them- you want me as a self employed or you don’t wont me at all -and that how he demand his rights)

Now, couple weeks after him I have registered, received my unique tax ref number and went to agency… What I have being told is that currently they can not change me to self employed because Inland Revenue stop them to do it. As I was explained IR makes some investigation regarding this form of employment/taxing and they are waiting for their decision- till then they stopped registering drivers as self employ and they keep those one that already been registered-as being advised by Inland Revenue.

I have found it difficult to believe because since there is no decision from IR or there should not be any changes because there is no legal basis- or not? Secondly as far as I am concern this is very common way of employment for HGV drivers and my colleagues being working like that for years now.

Can any one make a comment on that. Advice give me some point to argue as myself I am very inexperience in those sort of things.

Thank you very much for getting over my quite long firs post.

Peter

Alright mate…I’m interested in this post as I’m also thinking of going down the self employed route, but your post is just so hard for me to read :S

. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Welcome Biker :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: .

Adam_Mc:
your post is just so hard for me to read

I’ll see if I have got the jist of it… ■■?
Working for agency being paid PAYE basis with an “umbrella” company.
Now registered as self employed