Self-employed or not

Ive just reg’ed with an agency and they have reccomended self’ employ does anyone know if its worth it
Roger

If anyone recommends something, then you can bet your steel toe capped boots that it’s good for THEM and not you! :imp:

Probably not for the one day’s work a month they will give you after everyone else on their books has turned it down. :wink:

Harry Monk:
Probably not for the one day’s work a month they will give you after everyone else on their books has turned it down. :wink:

Hullo,
Can’t argue with that Harry. Though I was always self employed, in fact I was an Owner / Driver, that later took my lads on to work for me. But that was a very different day and age. If you didn’t find work you starved, and I kept a Wife and three kids on my work. However this seems to be a very different thing doesn’t it ? Although I am going to try an Agency this next time in the UK. I had a bloke ring me whilst I was in Chile offering me work, self employed, I think I shall give it a try. Mind you it wasn’t Brian.
Cheers, Archie.

As Harry has said

You need to know how many days you will get before even considering going Ltd or Umbrella, each will cost you to run, either accountant or umbrella

Umbrella will charge a weekly fee, Not exactly sure how much, but now could be close to £30

Ltd, Thats another kettle of fish, Setting up fees, accountant costs, filing costs to Companies house, a lot can be dealt with by the accountant, but more the accountant does, the more it will cost

Then you have the IR35 (HMRC) question, Which HMRC will I am sure of it, be closing the grey areas

1st place to start, is How much work you will get, and what is the rate?

There is a lot of info posted about the above points already on the forum, Good luck Roger

I think it needs to be said about Self-Employed in general;