Self Employed/Limited Company/Umbrella!

Ive recently changed jobs having thrown my teddy in the corner having been messed about once too often, and have signed up with an agency. They have insisted that I become a limited company/self employed and use an umbrella company. Apparently I can earn more this way and save a fortune on tax.

Ive no clue how this system works and don’t particularly want to fall foul of the tax man (again!).

Can anybody give me some pointers on what this minefield is all about, how best to tackle it, and how much its all going to cost?

regards,

Seriously Confused from Sutton Coldfield!!!

Go limited don’t use an umbrella company whatever you do!! Im a limited driver and i earn 18 quid an hour, i get to keep 15 of that and other stuff i claim for! The agency may have an accountant the other drivers use, I use ‘We Are Accountants’ in High Wycombe. You’ll need to register a company with companies house, it’s easily done online. Once you have your certificate of corporation you can open a business account and you’re there! A good accountant will help you with it. Im VAT registered also and i pay my accountant 48 quid a week which is a little higher than some but they’re very good and i claim a lot back. Good luck mate!! :grimacing:

A Nobody:
Go limited don’t use an umbrella company whatever you do!! Im a limited driver and i earn 18 quid an hour, i get to keep 15 of that and other stuff i claim for! The agency may have an accountant the other drivers use, I use ‘We Are Accountants’ in High Wycombe. You’ll need to register a company with companies house, it’s easily done online. Once you have your certificate of corporation you can open a business account and you’re there! A good accountant will help you with it. Im VAT registered also and i pay my accountant 48 quid a week which is a little higher than some but they’re very good and i claim a lot back. Good luck mate!! :grimacing:

+1