Self Employed Covered Car Transport

Hi all,

I’m new-ish to the forum. Used it generally to get advice.

I’m a military driver, been in for nearly 8 years. Obviously got all my licenses, full ADR etc, got a digi tacho but no CPC (despite what people may know about military drivers and tachos, I mostly drive class 1 and have to use a tacho) I’ve got a fair amount of experience driving throughout Europe and I’m now looking to leave.

The dream is I’d like to become self employed and set up my own covered car transporting business and work for myself. I’m passionate about cars and Motorsport so seems like a good route to go down. I’d probably start with a pick up and trailer or even a covered transporter van. Then I’d like to work my way up to getting an artic covered transporter.

Now I’ve read numerous amounts of threads and keenly followed the posts on the various Facebook groups about guys who are self employed/ltd and a lot say it’s not worth the hassle but I’m looking at starting my own business and not necessarily going self employed and working through agencies.

I’m really keen to hear anyone’s experience or advice if they’ve ever done something similar. Ways to get started, getting business etc. Any particular forums or places that give a step by step guide on going self employed. I’ve never been self employed before so I’ve got a lot to learn on that side of stuff. I’m trying to book a self employment workshop through the Career Transition Partnership to start getting my head into it.

Sorry for the long winded first post and if this kind of thing has been covered hundreds of times.

whatever you get make sure its very low , for ease of loading. i saw a great rig a year ago it was a renault or iveco flatbed it was front wheel drive meant the bed was extra low only about 18 inches bed height from the ground likely was a real joy to load - dont get rear wheel drivenearly always the beds are overly high to clear the diff , just my opinion