Self-employed bookkeeping

I’m new to this self-employed agency driving business i was wondering if anyone who is doing this could give me any kind of advice of what kind of bookkeeping I need to do i.e. records how much stuff do I need to record i know there are various books on the market for accounts and stuff does anyone have any recommendations

oneleg:
…,does anyone have any recommendations

Get an accountant. Preferably a dodgy one that is prepared to bend the truth.

SmashedCrabFace:
Get an accountant. Preferably a dodgy one that is prepared to bend the truth.

Sadly all the real good ones are at her majesty’s pleasure :slight_smile:

keep all your receipts for everything you buy connected to work,record all mileage and any other costs.Don’t just go to an account with a plie of paper and leave him to sort it you will pay a fortune,go on exel keep a list print it and take that to him.You can fill in a tax from online and do it yourself but they no all the little things to get tax down.

i use a company called gain advantage they pay your tax for you plus you can calm all of your expenses back weekly all it cost’s in£10 per week

madmanjay:
i use a company called gain advantage they pay your tax for you plus you can calm all of your expenses back weekly all it cost’s in£10 per week

That’s £520 a year an account would do it for £100-£200’no wonder they are called gain advantage they do gain

mac12:

madmanjay:

That’s £520 a year an account would do it for £100-£200’no wonder they are called gain advantage they do gain

bloody for £100/200 a year you must more or less give it to him on a plate done and dusted. my accountant is around the £450/550 mark and seems ok.

I do,all he needs to do is check it and let me no if anything new i can claim for.

madmanjay:

i,ve got a 3 grand tax bill due in january ,so if i give them a tenner a week they will pay it for me? :slight_smile:

Let the accountants go bust, do it yourself.

Keep records of what you do obviously.