Security cameras

i work in the security industry moving cash around (im a lorry driver) so it goes with out saying there are security cameras every where i go even in the truck, im concerned my employer is using the cameras to watch if im doing my job correctly and to issue disciplinary action, i got hauled in the office this morning,and im now on a 5 week improvement notice, just wondering can an employer use such devices to watch you at work and give out disciplinary action

heliguy10:
i work in the security industry moving cash around (im a lorry driver) so it goes with out saying there are security cameras every where i go even in the truck, im concerned my employer is using the cameras to watch if im doing my job correctly and to issue disciplinary action, i got hauled in the office this morning,and im now on a 5 week improvement notice, just wondering can an employer use such devices to watch you at work and give out disciplinary action

I’d imagine they can mate, it’s not like you don’t know they are there and they have been spying on you, what exactly have you been doing that you shouldn’t have been doing??

Yes they can - in as much as it’s completely legal. It’s no different to a CCTV camera in an office really. It’s a bit picky, but I can almost expect it with large cash movements, restricted drugs etc.

If you’ve really been dropping the ball then it’s fair game - but not really if its finding flaws in real life driving…

heliguy10:

probably anything he / she wants as long as you are informed of such equipment and what its used for. it would be no different than a worker in a asda store being covered by all the cctv equipment.

Come on, fess up, wot you binn doin’ man.

Your employer’s completely within his rights. If they pick up something during “routine monitoring” and make a ‘reasonable request’ (god, i hate management bumf) that an employee act in a certain manner then you’re probably best off smiling and getting on with it.