Securing a load - question

Hi, I’m after a bit of advice as a new driver , I’m new to commercial trucking and an agency driver, my question to you is , do you always need to strap down palletised loads on a curtainsider? I’ve done it and also haven’t done it on occasion. My question I guess is , is there a definative guide to securing palletised loads or what’s the general rule of thumb for it?

Thanks

Fireman Sam:
Hi, I’m after a bit of advice as a new driver , I’m new to commercial trucking and an agency driver, my question to you is , do you always need to strap down palletised loads on a curtainsider? I’ve done it and also haven’t done it on occasion. My question I guess is , is there a definative guide to securing palletised loads or what’s the general rule of thumb for it?

Thanks

I’ve heard it said that VOSA like to see every pallet strapped, but personally I’ve always used my own discretion, if I think a load would not be safe unless it’s strapped I strap it, if I think the load is safe without straps I’ll take it unstrapped.

One day, I go into work. 3 runs to a place in Tewkesbury (from Swindon). 12 pallets a run. 8 foot tall pallets.
First load, I open up both curtains and strap the lot down. Yardie’s keep staring at me. Talking amongst themselves, pointing and giggling.
On way to drop, I’m thinking how nicely the wagon s going today.
I get to first drop. ‘12 pallets for you.’
I open curtains ready for forklift.
Bloke comes out, looks at me and says ‘Do I really need the forklift?’
‘What do you mean?’
He goes up to a pallet, and picks it up. Drops it on the floor.
I stare at him in amazement.
He cuts open the black pallet wrap.
It’s a pallet of polystyrene sheets.
Weight without pallet, 8 kilos.

No wonder the yardies were giggling.

So if you are hauling polystyrene sheets, no you don’t have to strap it.