Secure a load on curtain trailer?

I’ve been driving class 1 for many years now but 99% of the time I pull fridge boxes, on an odd occasion I get sent out with a curtain sided trailer to collect 26 pallets from a soft drinks supplier where the pallets weight in the region of 1 ton each. To date all I do is draw the curtains and drive back to depot without securing anything as the pallets are well wrapped and will not move.
However I’ve been made aware that VOSA/DVSA are clamping down on unsecured loads on curtain sided trailers and you will be fined if caught. A curtain trailer is now classed the same as a flat bed trailer and all goods carried must be secured as if there were no curtain.
The company I work for are telling us to use the roof straps to secure the load but I don’t think these are adequate enough. VOSA/DVSA state that pallets over 400 kg must be secured to the deck using more than just there own weight and that a strap over 2 pallets from rave to rave is ideal. Am I correct in saying that roof straps don’t secure the load to the deck they only help to reduce sidewards movement?
So what I need to know is how should a load of 26 pallets weighing 1 ton each be properly secured on a curtain sided trailer, one of Stobarts guys was pulled outside the supplier last week and fined for the load not being strapped.

yeah mate as you have pointed out treat as a flat, roofstraps only good for 3-500kilos its your fine mate take no crap and ask for ratchets no point earning a wage to fritter away on fine is it

Make sure you have lots of cardboard to put over the top of the pallets.

A curtain sided trailer has always been basically a flat with an easy sheet system. the curtains were and always have been there to protect the cargo from the elements and nothing else.

As for securing the load to the vehicle. any system should be rated and therefore have the rating on the equipment and periodically checked and tested.