Scratch-building flat body

Hi

Having spent the last couple of weeks scouring the country looking for a suitable body for my 8.1 tonne four wheeler, I have come to the conclusion that maybe the most practical solution is for me to build my own.

One question that immediately comes to mind is what to use between the truck’s own frame and the frame of the body? Things like the chassis cross-members are riveted to the main frame rails, so I need to use some strips of material to raise the level of the body rails enough to clear these rivet heads. The body that came off had peices of flat steel welded to the underside, and according to the ex-owner the very original body had strips of plywood used for this purpose. I was wondering what people on here might suggest?

Has anyone here undertaken a project like this, and if so how did you go about it?

Any suggestions would be gratefully received :smiley:

Best Regards

“Z”

It is over 30 years since I worked as a vehicle bodybuilder but using old materials and equipment the first job we did was lay out the chassis with packing runners. These were planed lengths of 2 by 2 that would lift the crossmembers above the gear change, crossmembers and the protruding rivets you mention.

Then the actual timber crossmembers were made and laid out on the chassis runners. The next thing was to build the headboard and brackets from angle iron. Crossmembers were later made from either steel or aluminium but we normally used traditional materials. Floorboards were half lap Kerouin and the whole assembly was fastened to the chassis with U bolts and angle iron uprights. We tried to avoid drilling the chassis and used the manufacturers stamped holes when we could.

Obviously chassis extensions or beaver tail mods were done before planning the body building.