Scania Opticruise 3-pedal

Hello all…

I’m currently an owner driver but the time has come to get a second truck and take on a driver.

My current truck is a 26T Scania R270 with a manual gear box (2008). I spend my days doing deliveries with a HIAB in London. I don’t do ridiculous miles but have to get into tight spaces pretty much every day, on building sites, reversing into peoples driveways often with a wall an inch on either side and general London congestion so control at slow speed is vitally important. This is the reason I wanted a manual. I am more than happy with this truck and so far (touch wood) I have only had some minor problems. Working for my previous firm I was in a Iveco Stralis for a while with a automatic gearbox. Maybe I just don’t know how to drive them properly but I did not like them at all. Well I did but I really did not like the slow speed control, especially in reverse. I know you can put it on extra slow by holding down the button but I found it difficult not to jerk especially on a slope or going up a curb. I put my foot on the accelerator and then I had time to get a book out and read a couple of chapters before it decided to do anything. This whole experience has put me off automatics.

I went back to the same guy I bought my truck from for another one (with a manual gear box) and he said one is coming in a few weeks. It has now come in the guy phoned me yesterday to say it is ready for me to come and view. He listed all the things on it and then I stopped him when he said ‘opticruise gear box’ and I voiced my concerns…

Now the salesman obviously gave all the spiel about how wonderful this gearbox is but I would love to hear from those of you that drive these day to day. The truck is 2008 and it is of the 3 pedal variety. Will the clutch give me as much control as a normal manual bearing in mind the type of work I do? What are the gear changes like? Would you buy one?