Scania coolant system

Hi guys looking some help. Have a 2010 R500 that has the coolant level light coming on and off. When i fill it and it heats up it blows water out of the header cap. Also when i switch engine off it gargles for about 15minutes. Is this just air in the system (if so is it easy enough to bleed ) or something more complicated?? And another thing the heater blows cold air no matter how high it is set at…

Im no expert but it sounds like a blown head gasket. Can be checked easily by a mechanic with a CO2 testing kit.

I stand to be corrected on this as I’m not a mechanic, Scania’s don’t really suffer from head gasket failure as they use individual heads with sealing rings of some description ( was told this by a scania fitter ) so unless you have a cracked head on one of the eight pots then it’s most likely air in the system, I had a similar problem on my V8 with the gurgling and cold heater you mention, it turned out to be a cracked plastic ( not rubber ) pipe which ran from the header tank along the n/s ( on a rhd ) of the heads and around to the other side, if you just want to try bleeding it first then I was told two different ways by two different Scania fitters, one is to top up the header tank and gently pressurise the system with an air line with cloth wrapped around to stop the air coming out, this allegedly forces the trapped air out of the overflow, be careful not to put to much pressure in though, the other way ( which I used ) is to fill the header tank run the engine warm and gently remove the pipe that runs from the bottom of the square box that sits alongside the header tank until the bubbles disappear, that square box is the electronic control box for the heater which may be at fault for the cold heater as they either stick open or closed when faulty, hope this helps.