Scania 420 vs 470

Hello all, I’m a grain trader in Paraguay and I have a small fleet of Scania 124/420s in order to facilitate the moving of the physical grain. Since I’m a trader and not really a fleet manager, I know almost nothing about trucks. I can barely change my own tire. We recently agreed to purchase two 2004 Scania 124/420s from Europe, however upon receiving them we realized they were 124/470s. Before deciding what to do about it, I wanted to know what your opinion is on the two engines. Differences in fuel efficiency, reliability, etc.? I’m concerned about whether the more powerful engine will consume more fuel, as we don’t really need the extra power anyway. Also, I’m worried about the cost and ease of upkeep since there seems to be a lot more of the 420s here than the 470s. Thanks for your help!

Its basically a 420 engine with a secondary turbo in line to the main turbo. Should be a little better on fuel than the 420 just make sure the oil spinner is kept clean at each service and they should be fine also intercooler pipes tended to blow more often so maybe putting a spare in the cab and showing the driver how to change them and they will be fine.

RUN :grimacing:

alix776 was spot on. I had a 420 and people thought I was mad going higher and getting a 470 but it was better on the go go juice the mpg was about 2mpg better. But then some of it comes down to how heavy footed your driver is :laughing:

ellies dad:
RUN :grimacing:

That’s what I’ve heard. It’s fitted with a compound turbo that needs to be nurtured and serviced very regularly, and when they go wrong it’s £1000’s to put them right.
Did read on here I think that they are easy enough to convert to conventional type of turbo.