Sat Nav / Other questions

I am going to be starting my driving career soon, Class C+E and have a few questions before I actually go out driving for a living:

-Navigation / Planning Routes - Best way to do this? Been looking at Sat Navs but am a bit reluctant to spend approx £300 on a truck sat nav. Is there a cheaper way of effectively planning out your route to include low bridges etc?

-Best Agencies? - obviously there’s loads out there, which are the best and most reliable?

-PPE / Work Wear / Equipment & Tools - If I go down SE route I will need to provide my own so wondering where the best value suppliers are. Also whether I will need to buy any equipment or if anyone has any recommended tools etc to always carry with me which aren’t typically supplied by an employer?

Many thanks

My advice is not to use a car sat nav in a truck.
A truck sat nav will get you of trouble and pay for itself.
If the Police shut a road and you are diverted in an area you are not sure of.
Builders merchants have quality Ppe gear and work clothing.
A truckers atlas will have bridge heights for route planning.
I have the Snooper S8000 with freeview TV.
Adr route planning.
16 multidrop planning.
Live information for road closures/accidents/bad weather.
Bluetooth phone so your mobile can be paired up.
You speak in to the sat nav.
Most msa’s sell sat navs at Phonebitz franchises.

Sorry forgot to also add - can I do my CPC modules 2 & 4 before I take any of my practical? (I am taking class 2 then class 1 so might be able to secure some class 2 work in between if I have CPC)

Cheers

Hi mate good luck with planning to do your HGV licences. passed my class 2 a year ago and haven’t looked back.

As for sat nav’s its pretty much down to personal choice, personally I use a tom-tom pro 5150 truck, which inst a bad device but I have heard great things about the much cheaper (£50-£70) ones from fleabay or HGV trucktables. I plan to get one of these next.