sat nav dependent

Hey folks im a fairly new trucker and im very much sat nav dependent I have 2 hgv sat navs and a powerful external charger incase the sat nav breaks or the 12/24V charger packs up or doesnt work I do have a hgv atlas but I dont use it very much I really want to build up my geographical knowledge so im not so dependent the sat nav has anyone got any tips or things to help me get a better understanding of the uk road network as I would really like to be one of these who can get all over the country without aid… thanks guys

Plan your route first on the atlas, or at the least research the route and memorize it. Have your sat nav set up and plugged in but face it down for if/when you get lost.

I think it would work more for the motorway network though. I tend to be delivering to right out the way places so it doesn’t work too well for me.

I bought a sat nav off ebay a week ago one of those chinese 7" truck ones, got it this morning, had a play about with it, the software installed was iGo Primo Truck version 1.2 with maps from 2011. I’ve updated it to version 2.4 and Q4 2012 maps.

If your not computer savvy then the above is not an easy task to do, but so far so good, I’ve entered a few test routes and it’s pointed out all height/width and weight limits on the routes and in some examples also re-routed around certain local areas just fine.

For 58 quid it is so far an absolute bargain.

You are saving fuel by using a sat-nav, as you get advanced warning of when to turn off, so this gives time to plan the braking and gear changes if in a manual truck.
You are more relaxed as a driver, if the phone goes and you are asked how long to such a place you can tell them straight away as time to the destination will be on the sat-nav.
If low on fuel, you will know how far you can go untill you reach a garage.