Sainsburys now paying £9.20 an hour

So I came across an article saying how sainsburys are “investing” in their colleagues and will pay them a minimum of £9.20 an hour.

Now I’m sure some of you are aware, but particularly here in West Yorkshire and the North East some class 2 and even class 1 jobs ( yes ramage transport) pay their drivers effectively minimum wage or a few pence above it.

What has happened when 3.5 tonne van drivers and now store assistant are paid more than HGV drivers. I wonder if wages will increase after brexit when all the cheap labour goes (hopefully)

I’m currently a class 2 driver doing my class 1 soon… But at this rate should I apply to work at sainsburys instead?

aol.co.uk/money/2018/03/06/ … 0-an-hour/

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

No paid breaks, premiums reduced, bonus scrapped and that pay is frozen until 2020. By the time the “savings” in breaks and bonuses are factored in they are not giving much of a raise.

You will struggle to get full time as they like part time and then give overtime as required. It will be much like the jcb thread. A good rate but not enough hours for most

4yorks:
So I came across an article saying how sainsburys are “investing” in their colleagues and will pay them a minimum of £9.20 an hour.

Now I’m sure some of you are aware, but particularly here in West Yorkshire and the North East some class 2 and even class 1 jobs ( yes ramage transport) pay their drivers effectively minimum wage or a few pence above it.

What has happened when 3.5 tonne van drivers and now store assistant are paid more than HGV drivers. I wonder if wages will increase after brexit when all the cheap labour goes (hopefully)

I’m currently a class 2 driver doing my class 1 soon… But at this rate should I apply to work at sainsburys instead?