Royal Mail Driver Career Path

Hi guys. I’m just new to the forum so a big hello to you all. I work for Royal Mail as a postman. I’ve been working as a postie for 10 years. I’ve recently passed my class 1 C+E which I funded myself. There has just been a recruitment drive called the driver career path which was initially intended for Royal Mail class 2 drivers to be trained to class 1. Now as I’ve already got class 1 i took the chance and applied for the job. I now have a interview tomorrow morning. Has anyone here done the interview for driving with RM before? If so could you give me a heads up on the process?

Many thanks

Did you learn on some old piece of tat that was about 10 years old?

If so, you’ll be right at home.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi Paul. Yes I did indeed lol it had a manual box and half a million kilometres lol

Made for the job buddy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Your a lucky man, industry leading pay & conditions wearing the red uniform. Don’t think you’ll find too many outsiders who will have got to a driving interview with them, the way in for most is by a long stint on agency.

Hi Rob. Yeah I would really REALLY love to get the job. I’m really hoping the interview and assessment go well enough to seal the deal

rob22888:
Your a lucky man, industry leading pay & conditions wearing the red uniform. Don’t think you’ll find too many outsiders who will have got to a driving interview with them, the way in for most is by a long stint on agency.

Suddenly the 10 year old wagon seems a bit frivolous PaulNowak :laughing:

Make sure you know your driving hours regs and most of the SSOW for loading and strapping of Yorks.
They will ask you about vehicle checks and almost anything else you can think of.
Your biggest advantage is you’re already an employee - as said long stint on agency is the usual way.