Rookie question

I’ve got my category A &B licences at the moment. I’ve got my medical next week so I can get my provisional sorted out and everything (should have no problems - 21, no medication, fit as a fiddle, blah blah blah).

Anyhow.

I’m intending on filling my driving licence (everything, including category G & H). If I get my category C and then go for Category E, will this give an entitlement to drive B+E (ie car with trailers), or just C+E?

I admit to not knowing how this works - how does it appear on the driving licences for those that have passed? C+E or C then underneath it, E?

I’m sure I’ll come to irritate many of you in the next few weeks/months :wink:

Gary

Hi Shadyron
Firstly welcome to trucknet mate.

I’m still a newbie myself so i can’t help you with your question myself, but someone will be able to give you the answer soon

shadyron:

You won’t irritate us, we’ve all been there.

just remember the only silly question is the one you don’t ask

shadyron:
I’m intending on filling my driving licence (everything, including category G & H). If I get my category C and then go for Category E, will this give an entitlement to drive B+E (ie car with trailers), or just C+E?

You get the E to specifically go with the C, so you don’t “go for category E” as such, you go for “category C+E”, so you would still need an extra test to get B+E. When you’ve done it you get “C” and “CE” as seperate categories on your licence

Oh, and welcome to trucknet. I’m not the only uknotter on here now I see :wink:

Paul

Sorry Repton, I’ve got to disagree with you there.

I checked on my licence and B E is dated when I took my car test. Granted that was over 20 years ago.