rigs and twigs

hi everyone i wonder if anyone could give me advice on what c.b. to buy as im a bit out of touch as the last one i owned was an am higain back in the old days, thanks
ps i would like to be the first to wish all a happy easter :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

At the mo, in not on channel. I’ve got, ready to go in after New Year, an 80 channel (40 UK n 40 CEPT (European) frequencies) fm box. Its a Maycom EM 27 which has quite a few useful features, many can be controled by extra buttons on the mic. There are also a few problems with it. Mic is a bit fragile.
The LCD display is polarised, in such a way that if you are wearing polarised shades, the display screen goes black.

I used to have an Amstrad CD109, it was a fantastic box. At the time I was an agency driver, I had my CB fitted into a large wood box with speaker, mic hook, dropper (rigged p for 12 or 24v input)etc. It got nicked. Modern boxes just don’t seem as good.

I prefer firestick type twigs (fibreglass rod with antenna wrapped around it) which I’ve used for years.

thanks for that simon, i used to use fire sticks my self i even had one on a home made ground plane in the loft that could get me almost anywhere, but am out of touch with rigs, was your box that got knicked one that you could take from truck to truck? if so did you plug in to the ■■■ lighter or how? this is the type of thing i am hoping to be able to do take it from one to another. thanks again

I don’t think you can better a Midland with a base loaded Modulator. or maybe a K40

Hi ABS,