Reversing - The C+E Test and reality!

Hi all,

Just wanted to hear peoples opinons on this one.

As you all know, the reversing test involves reversing round cones into a straight forward bay / box.

As i have just found out while doing an assesment for NFT this does not really give you much heads up for reversing on to a very tight bay from a right angle.

I know that a lot of it will come from practice, but i was given 2 attempts to carry out the above manouvre and needless to say, as a new driver, I jeffed the assesment :blush:

So, do you think that a slightly different reversing drill should be taught on lessons and then on the test ā– ā– ? as personally i think it would be benificial to all new drivers.

No, I donā€™t think it should be altered. Whatever reverse is taught and undertaken for the test there will always be a case for changing it as it doesnā€™t cover one particular real world reverse or another. However the current one covers a bit of reverse to the blind side, a bit to the good side, getting the trailer into a certain area and stopping with the rear of it within a prescribed area, without hitting things along the way and they are all situations you will encounter in the real world. I must admit though that in the 20 years since I passed my class one I have never done a reverse that comes even close to the manoeuvre you carry out on the test. :wink: :smiley:

It must be the luck of the draw with the assessment with NFT. When I did mine a few months ago I was just told to stick it on a certain bay and I could choose my start point and how I lined it up. I did it once and was then asked to pull off and stick it on a different bay, again choosing how I lined up to start it myself. Unfortunately I passed the assessment. :frowning: :cry: :imp: