Reversing help needed

I am about to start my first class 1 job since passing on Friday, so I have zero practical class 1 experience.

I went out today on the w+d as a drivers mate, so I had a good look how it drives, but on the Leicester run it’s all forward and no reversing, but I am on the Derbyshire run and may well have to back up.

my question is that I will be driving an a frame drag and the guy I was with told me that it has 2 points of articulation which inverts your reverse twice, so to steer it you turn the opposite way to an artic, which would mean that you turn the same as a rigid? does anyone have any input on this? or better still has anyone driven an a frame?

I can’t get any practice until I do the job for real, and no training school runs a frames so that’s out. I would just really like any advice.

Your best bet is find a quite services on your way out and just have a play round, I’ve never done w+d but I thought the reverse would work on same principal as a full length trailer??!

thanks yt, I live right on the doorstep so there are no services on my route, I’m hoping I can get to play in the yard where I drop the drag.

it has 2 pivot points, one on the towing eye, one on the front axle, so it makes sense that it would invert your steering twice leaving you back with rigid type direction steering. it’s a bit nerve wracking that I won’t find out till I’m in at the deep end. the driver today also told me that the trailers are really lazy which isn’t helping my nerves any, if you try and put some lock on it takes it about 20 yards to react he said.

I wouldn’t take much notice from what other drivers say the majority talk out their ■■■… You’ll be reet! And I can honestly say I’ve learnt something new there mate.

If you need a few shunts, so what your only human!

It’s an art form. Takes a lot to master and a great deal of patience. Nothing remotely like an artic or close coupled w+d.