Reversing an artic in the semi real world

Im lucky enough that the places i have gone have huge great yards with enough space to spin the artic round so you can always do a good side reverse and more or less put the trailer inline with the bay/slot. So far through being a newbie i havent managed to do that yet so i always need to aim the trailor a little.

Kinda difficult to explain my actions but this is what i try and do.

lets say i am to far over to the left so i need the tail of the trailer to go to the right. I put left hand down/right hand up until the trailer is pointing where i want it to. then i put full right hand down/left hand up to get the cab inline with the trailer. once in line i center the steering wheel and try to push the trailer back in a straight line (more luck than judgement). Once i think i am far enough back i then try and square off the trailer by right hand down/left hand up as quickly as possible ie almost full lock then obviously the opersite amount of lefthand down/right hand up to bring the unit inline with the trailer. I know i am steering in the right direction as the trailer does what i want it to do as far as direction of turn however after all the huffing and puffing and banging and flying coffee cups etc I am back where i bloody started ie .too far over to the left.

As to the flying coffee cups and banging when ever i reverse i always seem to end up with the unit at a steep angle to the trailer then the how lot starts jumping up and down. I was told that its somthing to do with the lift axel being a fixed axel rather than being a steering axel but even when i lifted it it still bangs and thumps.

what the hell am i doing wrong (apart from trying to do this/ being a muppet)

Practise

When you are half way in there, have a shunt and just use minimal steering input. If you`re giving it handfuls, start again.

Franglais: