Renault premium trucks radios not working

My company has taken recent delivery of 10 renault premium tractor units brand new 11 plates although I know 60 plates have this problem, unfortunatly in all of them the radios have at some time stopped working. Renault techs have been out and I think all they do is remove and refit the radio after disconnecting them. Now as an ex electronics engineer I think there is something much deeper going on here and it’s not the radio’s that are are at fault, but the internal security attached to the door switches ie when you turn off the ignition remove the key the radio is still on till the door is opened, so possibly some software glitch here shuts down the radio till it’s somehow reset. As a workaround i found removing / refitting fuse on position 61 or the radio supply fuse 20 amp does the reset. this is I hasten to ad an intermittant problem and may or may not be connected to the door remotes or ECU

I’d be very interested to hear if anyone else has had these problems or knows of an answer.

In this month’s issue of Truck & Driver, there is an article about Premiums … they went to Paris … or something ( haven’t really read it properly :blush: yet ) … but they’d had probs with the radio … cured by “moving the ariel, as it was touching the roof” :unamused:
I currently have probs with he radio in the Twingo i drive … it is only working on the left hand speaker … i am going to cure this … i have applied for another job :laughing:

rorymotorbiker:
I’d be very interested to hear if anyone else has had these problems or knows of an answer.

Best piece of advice you’ll get here - buy a decent truck next time

Think it was Kate who said how to fix this, simply remove key from ignition, and double lock it with the remote > press button twice, this switches all the electrics off, wait 2 mins and unlock, radio should now work.

how many live wires to the radio are there?
Normally they have 2- one from battery and one from ignition or ECU