Renault Magnum any good?

Hi all im currently a fitter but im thinking of becoming an owner driver next year. Im a big fan of the volvo fh as i know them inside out but they are a bit expensive. Ive worked on all makes of truck but never a magnum and I was wondering if they are any good both reliability and to drive. I know they use volvo running gear just like the premium but which volvo engine? Cheers, matthew

I’ve been running a Renault Magnum for two years now and I can’t fault it. The only problems I’ve had are problems generic to any truck of the same age and mileage (clutch, alternator, rubber hoses etc) but generally I’d say that for an owner-driver they are a fantastic workhorse and cheap to buy. Mine is a 500dxi and has the 12,870cc engine.

I’m retiring soon so you can buy my one if you want. :stuck_out_tongue:

If you’re looking at Renault because you understand the mechanics of them, wouldn’t a Premium be a better start for an OD.

muckles:
If you’re looking at Renault because you understand the mechanics of them, wouldn’t a Premium be a better start for an OD.

There is logic in that, and I did think about buying a Premium myself but at the end of the day a Magnum is a better truck to live in than a Premium for an OD, especially if they are away all week.

Either way, I couldn’t fault the service I get from my own Renault dealership compared to the experiences of folk who run older Scanias and Volvos on this forum.

Because I believe the engine in a magnum is the volvo d13 which I know is a great engine which again I know inside out whereas the premium is an 11. Basically Im thinking a magnum is the closest thing to an fh and cheaper. Thats the theory anyway :confused:

smith85:
Because I believe the engine in a magnum is the volvo d13 which I know is a great engine which again I know inside out whereas the premium is an 11. Basically Im thinking a magnum is the closest thing to an fh and cheaper. Thats the theory anyway :confused: