Reference period,working time records?

ive a couple of questions if any one can help? im an agency driver and ive realised i need to be keeping track of my average working week.48 hours.apparently this is useally over a 17 week period.do i need to log my working hours evrey day in a book,for vosa to see.ive also heard this needs to then be kept for 2 years?anyone help with this please?

ten4rubberduckie:
ive a couple of questions if any one can help? im an agency driver and ive realised i need to be keeping track of my average working week.48 hours.apparently this is useally over a 17 week period.do i need to log my working hours evrey day in a book,for vosa to see.ive also heard this needs to then be kept for 2 years?anyone help with this please?

Not your worry - the 48 average is for your employer or main agency to keep track of

nice one :smiley: ill ask em about that.cheers!

Whilst the employer has a duty to keep track of an employees working time it has to be said that a mobile worker cannot legally negate his/her responsibility to comply with the regulations.
You should be keeping records of your working time over the reference period if you wish to comply with the regulations.

Article 7.3
:
Mobile workers also have a responsibility for complying with the Regulations. If a mobile worker knowingly breaks the rules (e.g. neglects to inform his employer about other work, or knowingly makes a false record), then he/she may be liable for prosecution.

And before anyone says that no-one does roadside checks on the WTD and no-one gives a [zb] about it … I know :laughing:

tachograph:
Whilst the employer has a duty to keep track of an employees working time it has to be said that a mobile worker cannot legally negate his/her responsibility to comply with the regulations.
You should be keeping records of your working time over the reference period if you wish to comply with the regulations.

Article 7.3
: