Reduced Rest Period.. Mandatory or NOT?

It would be a good day for everyone if someone (vosa, perhaps) would give us the regulations in laymans terms instead of almost impossible to understand jargon. My question is this… We all know that we are allowed to do 3 x 15’s in a week. We all know that we can reduce our rest period from 11 to 9. But can the company you drive for INSIST that you extend or reduce?? My understanding is that the decision rests with the driver, but my company virtually say that you do your 15, reduce rest to 9, or out you go! Does anyone know where this is carved in stone so that i can shove it into my transport managers face once and for all. Any advice would be really appreciated. Oh, by the way, Hi to all. This is my first time. Sorry to enrol with a winge!!

Peejay :unamused:

:smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Welcome peejay1951 :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

FAQ forum for info on Posting Pics & avatars, How to use quotes, Driver CPC, and much more…

peejay1951:
It would be a good day for everyone if someone (vosa, perhaps) would give us the regulations in laymans terms instead of almost impossible to understand jargon.

The EU wrote them and the UK has done what they can to put them across without changing the meaning - got that from one of our site tacho GURUs :wink: :smiley:

peejay1951:
We all know that we can reduce our rest period from 11 to 9. But can the company you drive for INSIST that you extend or reduce??

We had a discussion on that not long ago - HERE

peejay1951:
It would be a good day for everyone if someone (vosa, perhaps) would give us the regulations in laymans terms instead of almost impossible to understand jargon. My question is this… We all know that we are allowed to do 3 x 15’s in a week. We all know that we can reduce our rest period from 11 to 9.