Reduced daily rest question, is my boss wrong?

Hi all, so i’m new to this, only passed my test 4 weeks ago, after driving 2 weeks ago.

After my first weeks work my weekly rest was 37 hours, so reduced. Now this week i finished at 1.30pm saturday. So am i right in thinking i have to take 45hours before i start on monday. then next weekend (when i have a long weekend booked anyhow) i can make up for the 7 hours i didnt take last week?

My boss seems to think i can reduce this weekend as well, and make up for it next weekend. i think thats wrong, but i cant get hold of the transport manager to ask him. (the guy who actually knows the rules). As far as i know, under no circumstances can you take 2 weekends reduced rest in a row.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Nick

when i do 4 weeks away i reduce on the first week the 45 the second and 45 again on the 3rd then when im home on the 4th i pay back what i owe. hope this helps

So i can pay back last weeks borrowed time next week, but this week still has to be a 45 hour rest. No way of doing 2 weeks reduced weekly rest in a row?

thanks

bigfatnick:
So i can pay back last weeks borrowed time next week, but this week still has to be a 45 hour rest. No way of doing 2 weeks reduced weekly rest in a row?

thanks

The simple answer is you need a 45 every other week and any reduced rest needs to be paid back by the end of the third week in question.

that is the way we are told to do it. so i would say no you can’t reduce but . tachograph is the man to answer this one . i just stick to what we are told to do right or wrong .

bigfatnick:
Hi all, so i’m new to this, only passed my test 4 weeks ago, after driving 2 weeks ago.