Red light camera

Hi. I received a red light ticket yesterday. Im wanting a bit of advise. I’m new to driving class 2 trucks and over a week ago I came to a red light camera set of lights. It was on red with a truck in front of me so I stopped when it went green the truck in front went through and when I got directly on the stop line going about 10 miles an hour the lights went amber. And the back wheels went through red. I couldn’t of stopped safely and the truck like most take a while from a stop to build up speed. I just wondered if any other drivers have done the same and if its worth challenging the ticket. Thanks

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

Take the 3 points and the fine.
No point in appealing, you won’t win.

Yeah I’ll have to I think. Just annoying that the lights were on green for less than 1 minute. And if your on the line or just over when it turns amber and you going slow you risk getting points.

davetruckers:
Yeah I’ll have to I think. Just annoying that the lights were on green for less than 1 minute. And if your on the line or just over when it turns amber and you going slow you risk getting points.

The law is this -
If you cross the line and THEN the lights change you treat it as a give way
In all cases the junction/crossing must not be stopped in so as to impede other road users

I got a red light ticket when I first started driving my car and got a time after lights went red 1.5 seconds, I had been trying to get directions of my partner on a map so was a little distracted and they where changing but I was doing 50 pretty close so could have stopped but though bugger it very stupid decision etc

It could be something you appeal, but it would probably not get you anywhere unless have dash cam footage etc showing over the line and just slow to clear due to truck in front etc

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

davetruckers: