Raising trailer legs when using a Terberg

Well started my new job today shunting. Had to do a day training on the Terberg to get signed off on it. I was shocked at the company policy of having to raise and lower the trailer legs each time. Never had to do that before, is this a normal practice now?

I’ve seen it done before and assumed that there had been damage to the load falling backwards if moved in the fully raised position.

Legs need raising if on uneven ground and I believe they should be raised if going on the road. But I never went on road in the tug myself only in the yard.

I’ve got a lot of experience with terbergs/kalmars. Never known any company to stipulate raising of legs. Whats the point in having a terberg then?!

Only time I raise legs is if on the public road, or certain parts of yard can lead to grounding with either the legs or rear underrun. Slight slopes or doors on hills are things to watch out for. A lot of the time you can just raise your trailer suspension though if it’s a really steep incline without bothering about the legs. We’ve got a steep slope on a corner and as I drive past the slope i watch the legs and as they clear the “touch point” I start to lower them maybe 2/3 inches and then watch the underrun bar and as that clears the “touch point” I raise the whole lot up to normal travel height. For me that’s 6 inches of the ground.

I was originally taught to raise the trailer as high as it would go til the raised light illuminated on the tug. After a long time of us all doing it like that, terberg then said that light is the over raised position light and that trailers should only be raised as high as required to clear the ground and only on level ground. If on undulating yards then raise trailer wind legs up and drop back down to travelling height.

So either I was taught wrongly in the first place or terberg talk ■■■■■■

I’ll let people guess what’s the actual truth.