quick query

Hello

I have a quick question for people in the know. Im pretty new to this business,but next week i have to collect a unaccompanied trailer from europe from the port. My question is regarding the cmr paperwork, does this normally come attached with the trailer when i collect it or do i receive this from the company that owns the trailer?

its probably a stupid question but i havent done a run like this before

many thanks :slight_smile:

When I did this job a few years back, the notes were normally in a tube connected to the trailer or just inside the back doors

ah great, thats fine, thank you :slight_smile:

Dont forget the palm couplings,lenses, bulbs,windy up handle . .

The CMR and other paperwork may be in the freight check in office in the port.
Ships have a ships bag to carry all the paperwork of the trailers.
If your trailer is sealed,break the seal and check the load.
The driver that dropped it,may have taken off the ratchet straps.

Check the condition of the tyres by moving the trailer a few inches.
Shared trailers get abused and pass it on to the next driver as it is not their problem.
If stood a while,it may take a while to build up the air.
You may need to secure the load when collecting it,about 12 ratchet straps should be ok.

toby1234abc:

Maybe that’s OK in Tobyland, but in the real world, this could cause REAL problems.

You of all people should know that you can’t just go removing international journey seals willy-nilly like you’ve suggested. :unamused:

toby1234abc:
The driver that dropped it,may have taken off the ratchet straps.

In which case the seal number will be different to the one on the paperwork!! Get someone in authority and show them seal differences, could end up costing someone if not reported!!

trevm:

Hi trevm,

It’s not a stupid question at all, and you’ve had good and useful answers, … except one from Toby, which you’d be best advised to ignore completely.