Questions about Birkenhead ferry port

Hi

Was wondering if you could help me out with some questions regarding Birkenhead ferry port.
I’m a new driver and have to drive a 7.5 truck over to Belfast from the port .

I wanted to know what is the best route from Sheffield to get to the port. I don’t want to go over the snake pass if I can avoid it.

Also what is access to the port like ? I’ve never been to this port before so any info/problems etc will be welcome .

Great if you can help

Cheers

Would you use woodhead? If not then come across the m62 following it towards Liverpool down the m6 onto the m56 and then onto the m53. Once your on the 53 it’s signposted.

Thanks for the info

Yes I was planning on using wood head as I think the snake may be a problem.( bad enough in a car and then snarled up,at glossop)

Do you know if access to truck parking at the port (prior to boarding ) is Ok ? or is there anything I should watch out for. I’ll arrive in the dark so trying to cover all the little things that potentially cause big problems .

I’ve been to Dover and Dunkirk in my truck and they aren’t too bad .

Anyway thanks again for the info appreciated it
Cheers

as you turn into the port area trucks waiting to board park on the left in two lanes as the gate to the weighbridge does not open until just before loading starts. if you slip up just go down to the roundabout and back to the end of the queue. the weighbridge is tight don’t drift left when pulling away from the book in booth (whilst looking down her top) as the Armco is cab door height and will leave a line along the cab as my double driver found out,