Question

Hi Everyone

I have been looking at this forum for ages and finally got round to registering.
May i say it an excellent forum
I have always wanted to drive HGV’s as my late dad used to do that but i havent driven for a living for about 10 years so would that go against me for prospective employees ?
I have 2 questions and would be grateful for any advice from anyone who replies.
I was made unemployed in April and it is a struggle like anyone else and my other half starts a uni course in October as a mature student
I live in Glasgow and the girl in the regeneration has said if i could get a letter from a company saying they would employ me if i had a class 2, they would look to try to fund me, however i feel a bit bad about this as they really deal with the long term unemployed and i feel like i am taking funding away from someone more deserving, so my first question is would the DWP help with funding or courses ?
I have a 7.5 tonnne licence and drove for Royal Mail for years.
2nd Question is i have applied for numerous jobs and have had no joy and have registered with agencies so is that the best way forward ?
Or should i just give it up and look for something else ?
I certainly dont want to sound as if i am looking for handouts etc , just wanting some advice from more experienced drivers .
Im sorry if this message sounds long winded.
Thanks
Allan

amacke4344:
Hi Everyone

I have been looking at this forum for ages and finally got round to registering

Hi Alan,
Funding for LGV courses is ‘patchy’ at best and varies from region to region, but I do take your point about handouts etc…

… so perhaps you could consider:

• Going back to the Royal Mail with your 7.5t entitlement and working your way up the ladder?
  • Signing on with agencies and using your 7.5t entitlement to earn the cash to fund yourself?
  • Asking the Jobcenter whether there are any other options open to you?
  • Checking the Logistics Dept. at a college?