Q Re. Slinging 4M Steel Plate

Hi, I have a job coming up of a load of steel going to a boatyard.

The customer wants it unloading through the doors of the dock (hiab) so there is a height restriction to consider.

There are a lot of lengths of various types of section which are no prob, but there will also be a number of 4Meter x 2Meter sheets.

I have plenty of experience with a crane but have never done a large load of steel like this before.

So for those with experience delivering steel, the question is, how would you sling the sheets horizontally so they can be put through the doors.

I have a hook but also a brick grab which can act as a spreader. I have 6M strops for my usual work but obviously know I can’t use them with steel as they will be cut.

This is a one off job that may lead to more. I am wondering if I could improvise using the equipment I have using corner protectors etc., or I can hire the right chains etc. to do the job properly.

Just want to know what the experienced folk would use for this.

Thanks for any advice offered.

Chains. Anything else is a compromise.

Google steel plate lifting clamps, you can hire them, if you were closer you could have borrowed mine, we use them for lifting plate steel on overhead crane and on site with Fassi crane. Hope this helps.

This is what you need - two pairs.

Just choke your slings with carpet under them .

Punchy Dan:
Just choke your slings with carpet under them .

Aye, slings will be OK , carpet or thick rubber on the edges then choke em.
I seldom use chains on steel unless theres’ zero chance of them slipping. if you need a big spread between the pair, they can slip with disastrous consequences.

Plate clamps.

Normally I would use a pair off slings with the bite at the top edge and plenty packing on the bottom edge to protect the slings.