Private HGV and use

Hey all,

Newbie here :smiley: Hopefully I’m not going to bore you all with the same old questions! but attempting the near impossible and trying to figure out the Vosa (sorry to swear) regs and thought id try the wealth of knowledge and experience on here :grimacing:

Heres the story, corrections welcome!!!

Im going to look at a 5.6t Dodge 50 with a view to buying it, its registered as a private HGV.

Im a self employed builder so if i read it right i don’t need CPC as driving isn’t my main job (i will be using the truck just to move materials to where I’m working)

I have the old license so can drive unto 7.5t.

It won’t be hire or reward as moving the materials isn’t earning me money, what i do with them (my trade) is.

What the hells a burden■■? seems to be Vosa’s new all singing all dancing legal loop hole to an enforcers paradise!

Presume i don’t need a tacho as under 7.5t and not a professional driver, i’ll be lucky to be on the road an hour per day.

Private HGV, am i right in reading that as I’m not a professional driver, nor using it for hire or reward that i could leave it in that category? For a while to come it will also be my only vehicle as well so will be used evenings and weekends for pleasure :confused:

Any help muchly appreciated and thank you for your time in advance :slight_smile:

Daz

I try and answer the points in order:

Dodge 50 - one of the least desirable vehicles on the road. But if it’s cheap and sound then it could be ok.

It will need to be taxed LGV (goods) but this probably will not change the tax amount to any extent.

You will be exempt from driver cpc provided you stay within the description you have given.

Check your driving licence to ensure it shows C1 on the bottom of the photocard.

You are exempt from the use of tacho

vehicles or combinations of vehicles with a maximum permissible weight of 7.5 tonnes or less that are used for carrying work equipment for the driver