Possible career change saying hello

Morning all,

I’ve been reading the forum for a while so thought I’d best say hello!

When I was a kid, probably about 11/12 I remember our teacher asking what job we want to do when we’re grown up. I remember clear as day saying that I either wanted to be a businessman or a long distance lorry driver!

I’m 39 now and have spent the last 23 years as a “businessman”, ie, working in sales, doing deals, pitching for business etc etc. I’m currently an estate agent (boooooo!!!) and have well truly had enough of the pressures of this type of career (I’m not naturally pushy or competitive so it really doesn’t suit me).

That “lorry driver” itch has always been there, I enjoy driving and I enjoy working alone, and I’m now at the point where I think I need to do it. Got a lot of research to do and tests to pass obviously! My main concerns are:

• Will I get a job with no experience
  • Is there enough work out there
  • Are there companies out there who would put me through the training
  • If not, can I afford to even go for this career change as I haven’t got a spare coupla grand!

Anyway, that’s my story and would welcome any advice at all…apologies that this type of thread has been done before, but I guess we’re all a bit different!

Hiya :slight_smile:

I’m making a career change too, to realise the same childhood dream.

Seems pretty scary, but if you want it, you can get it.