Perkins V8 Scania

I am a new contributor to the TruckNet forum so I apologise for the reply to this subject being about 10 years too late. I was an apprentice mechanic for Magnet Joinery in the early 70’s and we ran a lot of Leyland Mastiffs with the Perkins V8. Perkins used to deliver engines direct to our workshops because of problems with them. One day I recollect that the delivery was made with a Scania tractor unit with a Perkins badge and I asked the driver if it was a joke but he told me that the Scania was being used as a test bed for a larger V8 that was being developed by Perkins. That’s as much as I know about the Perkins engined Scania. I wonder if the Scania in the picture was that truck?

Just to clear this up, the Scania was being used to test the turbocharged Perkins V8 640 engine. Perkins also used two withdrawn AEC Mandator V8 chassis, one from Ron Sinclair’s fleet and the other an ex CAV Fuel Systems test bed. The Perkins V8 640 engine was road tested in both turbocharged and naturally aspirated forms.

ERF:
Just to clear this up, the Scania was being used to test the turbocharged Perkins V8 640 engine. Perkins also used two withdrawn AEC Mandator V8 chassis, one from Ron Sinclair’s fleet and the other an ex CAV Fuel Systems test bed. The Perkins V8 640 engine was road tested in both turbocharged and naturally aspirated forms.

And what were the conclusions of the tests?

andrew.s:

ERF:

And what were the conclusions of the tests?

Just found a few old clippings from the 70’s and wondered if anyone knows anything about this one :confused: I just clipped out the picture but not the text :unamused:

I wonder if it went as well as a K series Dodge :wink: …And Broke down as many times :laughing: :laughing:

That’s a surprise, never knew Scania used any Perkins. :confused:

I am fairly sure this engine would not have been fitted by Scania.