Perfect cab for tramping?

I’ve just been reading in another thread, the slaggings off of the much beloved Merc Actros Fatgit cab and it got me doing the dangerous thing of thinking.

I work as a relief driver* for a company running containers out of Britain’s (alleged) Premier Port. Yeah - right oh :unamused:

This means that I drive (tramping) a different truck more or less week by turn.

By and large the fleet/contract is Volvo, Merc, MAN, with a few of these new DAF 105(?) - oh, and I noticed a couple of Scania the other week, but haven’t yet had one.

I can’t tell you about the techy/deiselsmoke stuff. They’re all high roof tramping cabs. Other than that - “I only drive the ■■■■■■ thing” is my view. (to a point :wink: )

Sooooooooo

I was thinking . . . .

I’d start with the Actros as base, but I’d want to nick and borrow bits from the others. I quite like Granny’s 30s sideboard as the dash. It’s perfect with the pockets and cubbyholes for two of my most important bits of kit - Kitchen timer and my mobli. They sit in the two cup holders next the wheel, so are visible and reachable.

I actually quite like the gearbox - once I’d learned the new Actros mantra that is “Gimme a ■■■■■■ gear, you [zb]” as I negotiated complicated donuts trying to avoid those that don’t actually “drive” their vehicles :blush:

But I would want to add. . . . . . . .

the comfort shift button from the MAN so as to not need the clutch

the mirror control from MAN, so I could adjust all 4 main mirrors. (In fact, when I had a smaller MAN, I could even adjust 5 :open_mouth: but that’s just the cynic in me :wink: )

But I’d have the actual mirrors from the Volvo. I’m aware of the feeling regarding blind spots, but I’m happy to incorporate a bit of bobbing and weaving of the head into my incab fizzical excercise regime :laughing: