pcv to hgv

Hi folks,
Looking for a bit of info here as I’m looking into moving from bus and coach driving to HGV. I have been driving busses for about 2 years and range from driving these …

to these…

and everything in between.

What I would like to know is will my experience on these busses and coaches help when it comes to HGV driving ? Also does anybody know if my time driving these will help when it comes to looking for work if/when I pass my tests as a lot of job are looking for driving experience.?

Thanks in advance.

Employers tend to look on the licence and see how long you have held the category they are looking to employ you with

As you may be up against others with no large vehicle driving experience then the PCV will give you an edge

Unless you have a pre 1997 car licence you will need to do initial mods 2 and 4 on top of all the usual tests and on passing those your LGV dcpc entitlement gets added to the currect PCV DQC expiry date IF you have completed 35 hours periodic dcpc
If got current PCV DQC by doing PCV mods 2 & 4 and not yet done 35 hours dcpc then you will end up after doing LGV initial with a DQC with 2 different expiry dates which will then be the same after doing the 35 hours and at the LGV date + 5 years - not the PCV date + 5 years

Thanks for the reply mate. I didn’t pass my car test until 2007 so I know I will have to do the initial CPC modules again. As for my current CPC I done the initial mods for PCV and have done 3 more days cpc since passing my test.

You will find the training straightforward enough - especially if you choose an automatic. (still get a full manual licence).

I suggest you get your provisional C and book at least two assessment drives.

Some charge, many are free. In our case, they’re free.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

cp91: