PCV/LGV Conversion Confusion

Good morning, folks.

I’ve been driving buses for the last 17 years and have decided that I could do with a change of career - however I do like driving for a living so I’ve decided to cash in the provisional LGV entitlement that’s been lying dormant on my licence since the mid ‘90s. However, I do have a couple of questions.

Firstly, a former colleague of mine made the jump from buses to lorries a couple of months ago and he was surprised to find that he didn’t have to do a theory and hazard perception test, just a conversion test. Now, I’ve tried searching this conversion test online extensively and found very little about it except that it may be something to do with Mod 2 of the CPC. I did search this forum but could only find something dating back to 2012 so I doubt it would be relevant almost 6 years later. Somebody told me how to book it - go onto DVSA website and start to book a theory test and the option for LGV conversion should be there. He even showed it to me for his license. Except for me, the option isn’t there - just the option for theory and HP. However, looking at my CPC card, which came with acquired rights since I passed my PCV test in 2000, it already has Cat C and CE on the back of it along with Cat D, all valid until September 2019. So my question is do I have to do a full theory and hazard perception test, and LGV conversion test, or just the practical test because I already have CPC for Cat C and CE?