Part Time Driving

Hi Everybody,
I’ve been driving for a living for 24 years now, 18 of them as a Class 1 driver.
I’m now seriously considering working part time as opposed to full time, as I’d like a bit more time at home and because I’m trying to get a small business up and running.
I’d be interested to hear from anyone with experience of working part -time, especially with agencies. I would need regular work, maybe 3 to 4 days a week or say 6 hours a day.
Is there any demand for drivers who don’t want to commit to a full week?
My current employer (DHL) isn’t interested, despite having drivers sitting around doing nothing at some times and them being short at others!
Any experiences or comments welcome.

I was off the road for 4 years to run a business, during that time I tried to get some part time driving to ‘keep my hand in’. Unfortunately it didn’t really happen on a regular basis, a mate of mine has a haulage business and I did the odd bit of work for him. There’s no agencies in this part of the world so that wasn’t an option. I did leave my name and number at a few companys within travelling distance but all I was offered was the odd bit of sick cover. Good luck.

Tiger.

I have done part time driving for the last 25 years as I am office based during the week.

Loads of work round here thru the agencies on ASDA, Morrisons etc - I usually do alternate weekends.

I have been doing Thursday-Friday night trunking work for almost 5 years since I retired at age 60,through my local agency.Suits me without ruining the complete weekend,because I get a Saturday rate.There are some firms/agencys round here who offer days,nights,weekends or odd shifts.

I do part time driving through an agency.

I just let them know what I am available each week and they usually find me something.