Owner or Owned

Hi, im new to the whole forum thing! Npt yet trucking but on route! Ive been looking round at the job situation and in my area its a bit grim! £8 an hour looks tops at most places!

Was wondering, to set yourself up as an owner driver, what start up cost and monthly out goings? There must be more money than working agency and for small companies, i dont mind working hard, but would prefer to work hard and earn more than beans and toast daily!

Just throw some ball park figures up for salary and average weekly hours if poss! Thanks

This question gets asked in many guises week in week out.

And the same answer becomes apparent.

No one will give away their rates because they don’t want the competition.

It’s not a hobby. You need 8ish grand in the bank as a bare minimum. You need a cpc holder ( if you aren’t one yourself). And you need to get approved for an operators license.

That’s before you have even thought about the purchase / lease price on a unit and the costs of fuel, maintenance, etc.

Best of luck to you in your venture if you go for it.

And welcome to the forum

NoTruck:
Just throw some ball park figures up for salary and average weekly hours if poss! Thanks

It’s far more complex than that.

Running even one lorry is more complex that running a van. Anyone with a category B driving licence (i.e. a car licence), a van with current MoT certificate, insurance for business use and for goods in transit can start a ‘man with a van’ business, parking the van outside their home at night.

You need an standard operator’s licence to run anything over 3.5t for hire or reward, which means you need an operating centre with suitable planning permission (parking a lorry on a residential street will not do!), a freight operator’s CPC (or the services of someone who has a CPC) and finance sufficient to satisfy the Traffic Commissioner. If you don’t stay on the right side of VOSA, your operator’s licence will ultimately be withdrawn.