Owner drivers that are "limited comapnies"

Hi all, just wondering if many of you have started on your own as a limited company?
Cheers
DBT

I started as a sole trader then after advice from the accountant switched to ltd after about five years. It was a right pain!

Started as limited.

I’m looking at starting as limited,
I’ve had two price’s from different accountants, one is £99 per month then added cost’s throughout the year for various things, the other is £115 per month, they both are full package deals if you like, but as I’ve never done this before I don’t know if it’s a good price or not?!
Thanks
DBT

Hello All - I will keep a watch on this post as i keep thinking the same :smiley: does and don’ts and worth it or not !!!

I’m limited company. There are advantages and disadvantages to both but for me the advantages outweighed the disadvantages, chiefly that my own personal assets are protected should some disaster befall me as a result of running the truck. Either way, decide from the word Go how you want to do it, if you change from sole trader to limited company later, you’ll have to go through the whole O licence application again from the newspaper advert onwards.

Your figures for accountant are about what I pay, there are cheaper accountants locally but mine is ■■■■ hot, some accountants seem to think they are working for HMRC. :stuck_out_tongue:

Comparing accountants packages is a bit like comparing mobil deals! best of luck.

I pay £50.00 pm but take care of basic book keeping and vat myself.

dbt:
I’m looking at starting as limited,
I’ve had two price’s from different accountants, one is £99 per month then added cost’s throughout the year for various things, the other is £115 per month, they both are full package deals if you like, but as I’ve never done this before I don’t know if it’s a good price or not?!
Thanks
DBT

Dafydd, i really do wish you would actually read what you have written before you click the submit button :unamused: