owner driver

hey just looking some advice im thinking of buying a unit to do some traction work. im based in Northern Ireland, has anyone any advice as to who to go to or talk to to find work? and what kind of rates can i expect? i am a tipper owner driver and the work is kinda slow for some time now, and help would be much appreciated…

If anyone tells you about available traction, it’s going to be crap mate, shame but that’s the way it is. £1.30 per mile is about the going rate for traction that’s easy to get on. Not worth it in other words. :bulb:

Just get on the phone and cold call local companies on the off chance, you may get lucky.

The number of both Northern & Southern Irish hauliers over here in Liverpool pulling for Maritime & Greycourt would suggest that the tracvtion job in Ireland isn’t too good at the moment.

Good luck bud, Ross.

cheers for the info lads, :smiley: who would be a good company to work for? would i need public liabilty ins any how much would it be roughly?

Assuming my Operator’s Licence is granted, I will be doing long-distance traction at £1.80 a mile for a company which is 100% financially sound and has been for the last 50 years.

Any less of a deal than this, and you might just as well drive around in your car throwing £20 notes out of the window.

Good luck getting ANYWHERE near £1.30mile via NI traction companies more like £1.10/20 :exclamation: :exclamation: :unamused:

DFDS/Norforkline mad keen looking for subbies but “B.McCann/Hornsby/E.Nicholl” all looking to reduce their subbie fleet in there so what does that tell you :question: :exclamation:

Sawyers/McBurney/MorganMcClernan you’ll work 24/7 to earn only a wage. :cry:

Big Truck:
Good luck getting ANYWHERE near £1.30mile via NI traction companies more like £1.10/20 :exclamation: :exclamation: :unamused: