Owner Driver Rates

I have been browsing these forums for many months now , researching the industry i intend to set up business in.

I have been and got my CPC and am now just awaiting the grant of my Operators Licence with a few to purchasing a 6*2 tractor and hitting the streets.

As a newbie i have found it quite difficult to get a real feel what potential rates are to be had for different types of haulage work with realistic weekly earnings.

This quid a mile lark is no way near enough to cover ones operating costs so i want to know how you all do it?

It would be great if a price table could be produced on this forum which would help owner drivers in preparing financial forecasts.

Any advice??

MARCH284:
Any advice??

Yes, do not even think about purchasing that 6x2 tractor unit and hitting the street until you have work lined up. Until you have work, and know the rate it will pay, you can’t know if you can afford the truck.

MARCH284:
This quid a mile lark is no way near enough to cover ones operating costs so i want to know how you all do it?

That’s easy, don’t work for a quid a mile.

MARCH284:
It would be great if a price table could be produced on this forum which would help owner drivers in preparing financial forecasts.

You should have almost all the figures you need to produce your forecasts, the only thing missing is the rates and no one on here can tell you them, only your potential customers can. There are cost tables produced by people like the RHA but to be honest I have never found them to be much use for an OD. They may be fine for a large concern but the figures are always wildly different from mine.

These forums can provide answers to many questions on legal and technical problems, on the steps needed in obtaining an O Licence, on insurance, on peoples experiences of dealing with different firms etc. However, the "Where can I find work and what will it pay” questions are almost impossible to answer.

Thanks Coffeeholic.